Skip to content ↓


“You have brains in your head.  You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself any direction you choose.“ 

Dr Seuss 

At Michael Faraday, our 4 overarching principles that shape our practice in early years are:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • Children develop and learn at different rates.

The seven areas of learning and development include:

Three prime areas:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

As well as four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Click below for the Birth to 5 Matters and the Development Matters, which is the non-statutory guidance that supports the delivery of the EYFS learning at Michael Faraday: